Student Tuition and Fees

 Fiscal Year 2021-2022

Tuition and Fees Apply Each Term

Number of Credit Hours In-District Tuition Out-of-District Tuition Non-Resident Tuition
1 $77.00 $87.00 $200.00
2 $154.00 $174.00 $400.00
3 $231.00 $261.00 $600.00
4 $308.00 $348.00 $800.00
5 $385.00 $435.00 $1,000.00
6 $462.00 $522.00 $1,200.00
7 $539.00 $609.00 $1,400.00
8 $616.00 $696.00 $1,600.00
9 $693.00 $783.00 $1,800.00
10 $770.00 $870.00 $2,000.00
11 $847.00 $957.00 $2,200.00
12 $924.00 $1,044.00 $2,400.00
13 $1,001.00 $1,131.00 $2,600.00
14 $1,078.00 $1,218.00 $2,800.00
15 $1,155.00 $1,305.00 $3,000.00
16 $1,232.00 $1,392.00 $3,200.00
17 $1,309.00 $1,479.00 $3,400.00
18 $1,386.00 $1,566.00 $3,600.00
19 $1,463.00 $1,653.00 $3,800.00
20 $1,540.00 $1,740.00 $4,000.00
21 $1,617.00 $1,827.00 $4,200.00

Note:

  • In-District includes Hidalgo and Starr County residents.
  • Out-of-District includes all other Texas residents.
  • Non-Resident includes all other United States and International Students.

Tuition and fees are per semester and are subject to change upon approval of the Board of Trustees of South Texas College and upon changes in the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board requirements or other regulatory entity requirements.

See fee schedule below for additional applicable fees.

Active Duty Military, Spouses, and Dependents – Flat Tuition per Credit Hour  
In-District per credit hour 127.00
Out-of-District per credit hour 137.00
Out-of-State per credit hour 250.00
Competency-Based Courses (Certificate, Associate, Bachelor) - Flat Tuition  
Competency-Based Format Courses Offered during Seven-Week Accelerated Terms* (per Term) (In-District) 850.00
Competency-Based Format Courses Offered during Seven-Week Accelerated Terms* (per Term) (Out-of-District) 910.00
Competency-Based Format Courses Offered during Seven- Week Accelerated Terms* (per Term) (Out-of-State) 1,500.00

 *All fees will be assessed, except mandatory and course fees.

Differential Tuition per credit hour  
3000/4000 Level Courses 30.00
Architectural & Engineering Design Technology 30.00
Associate Degree Nursing 75.00
Astronomy 10.00
Automotive & Diesel Technology 20.00
Biology 15.00
Chemistry 20.00
Child Care and Development 20.00
Culinary Arts 15.00
Drama 20.00
Electrician Assistant 10.00
Electronic Equipment & Computer 15.00
Emergency Medical Technology (EMT) 55.00
Engineering 20.00
Fire Science 10.00
Geology 20.00
Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning 20.00
Law Enforcement 10.00
Legal Assisting 10.00
Manufacturing Technology 10.00
Occupational Therapy Assistant 55.00
Patient Care Assistant 35.00
Pharmacy Tech 55.00
Physical Therapist Assistant 55.00
Physical Science 20.00
Physics 20.00
Radiologic Technology/Sonography 65.00
Respiratory Therapy 65.00
Vocational Nursing 75.00
Welding 15.00

Workforce/Continuing Education

Tuition and Fees

Workforce/Continuing Education Tuition:  
Workforce/Continuing Education Non-Credit Tuition per Contact Hour or Variable Tuition Including Zero Tuition (In-District) $7.00 or Variable Tuition Including Zero Tuition
Workforce/Continuing Education Non-Credit Tuition per Contact Hour or Variable Tuition Including Zero Tuition (Out-of-District) $8.00 or Variable Tuition Including Zero Tuition
Workforce/Continuing Education Non-Credit Tuition per Contact Hour or Variable Tuition Including Zero Tuition (Non-Resident) $18.00 or Variable Tuition Including Zero Tuition
Workforce/Continuing Education Fees:  
Workforce/Continuing Education Non-Credit Late Registration Fee 10.00
Continuing Education Installment Plan Fee 5.00
Continuing Education Non-Credit Installment Late Payment Fee 10.00
Workforce/Continuing Education, Conferences/Seminars/Summer Camps/Workshops/Customized Training/Other Training Activities and Events Negotiated Recovery of Costs and Processing Fees Including Exemption of Both

Regional Center For Public Safety Excellence (RCPSE) 

Tuition and Fees 

Regional Center For Public Safety Excellence (RCPSE) Tuition:  
Continuing Education Law Enforcement Courses 6.50 per Contact Hour, or Variable Tuition Based on Recovery of Costs
Regional Center For Public Safety Excellence (RCPSE) Fees:  
Firearms Scenario-Based Simulator Training (per student for 30 minutes) 23.00
Target Range Qualifier Simulator Training (per student for 30 minutes) 18.00
Driving Simulator Training (per student for 30 minutes) 38.00
Car Fire Simulator Training (per 4 hours) Variable, based on recovery of costs
Emergency Vehicle Operations Course (EVOC) (per agency) 100.00 per Day or 18.00 per Hour
Skills Pad (per Agency per Hour) 25.00
Classroom w/Technology (per Day Beyond 3 Days of Consecutive Usage) 114.00
TCOLE Licensing Certification Exam Fees:
Basic Peace Officer Exam
35.00
Basic Jailer Exam
35.00
Telecommunicator Exam
35.00
Police Officer to Jailer Exam
35.00

Fees 2021-2022 Academic Year

Mandatory Fees  
Registration Fee:
Fall and Spring:
Registration Fee per student per semester
150.00
Summer Minimesters:
Registration Fee (one-time fee) per student for Summer Minimesters with start dates of May 15th through June 30th
150.00
Registration Fee (one-time fee) per student for Summer Minimesters with start dates of July 1st through August 10th
150.00
Information Technology Fee per Credit Hour 31.00
Learning Support Fee per Credit Hour 14.00
Student Activity Fee per Credit Hour 4.00
Course Fees  
Electronic Distance Learning/VCT Course Fee per Credit Hour 10.00
Lab Fee per Lab Credit Hour (for applicable courses with labs) 24.00
Physical Education Special Activity Fee per Course 55.00
Program Specific Fees:  
Fire Academy Fees: (per student/per semester) includes: Gear Rental, Self-Contained Breathing Apparatus, Testing 1,060.00
Information Technology and Other Course Fees: Certification (per Course) for the following courses: CPMT 1166 and CPMT 2350 Recovery of Costs and Processing Fees
NAH and Other Course Fees: Liability Insurance/Exams/Booklets/Badges/Special Program ID/Certificates/Pinning Ceremony/Other Activities Recovery of Costs and Processing Fees
Police Academy Fees: (per Student/per Course) Includes: Ammunition (pistol, rifle, and shotgun), less lethal (taser cartridges, OC Canisters), duty gear (holster, pouches, handcuffs, etc.) For the following courses: CJLE 1506, CJLE 1512, CJLE 1518, CJLE 1524, CJLE 1429 165.00
Welding and Other Course Fees: Certification (non- "S" Section) (per Course) For the following courses: WLDG 1312, WLDG 1457, WLDG 1428, WLDG 2406, WLDG 2451 150.00
Incidental Fees  
Add/Drop Fee (One-Time Fee) - 1st Class Day Through Census Date 25.00
Audit Fee Tuition and Lab Fees
Course Repeat Fee per Credit Hour:
Third or More Attempts (Excludes Developmental)
125.00
Enrollment in Developmental Studies Courses (>18 credit hours)
125.00
Developmental Studies Fee (One-Time Fee per Semester) 29.00
Dual Credit Late Processing Fee per Course per Student after Census Day 200.00
Fee per Credit Hour for Dual Credit Students Attempting a Course Three or More Times 125.00
Reinstatement Fee (After Census Date) 200.00
Returned Check 30.00
Student ID Replacement Fee 15.00
Student Insurance Fee (Voluntary) Paid to Approved Insurance Carrier, Subject to Change
Withdrawal Fee (from all courses - one-time fee) - after Census date 50.00
Installment Plan/Emergency Loan Fees  
Installment Plan Fee 35.00
Installment Plan Late Payment Fee (For each late payment) 35.00
Emergency Loan Late Payment Fee (For each late payment) 35.00
Library Fees  
Lost or Damaged Library Item Cost of Item plus Processing Fee
Lost or Damaged Library Item Processing Fee per Item 30.00
Overdue Inter-Library Loan or TexShare Item, per Day Fine as Assessed and Charged by Lending Library
Lost or Damaged Inter-Library Loan or TexShare Item, per Day Fine and/or Replacement Cost as Assessed and Charged by Lending Library
Parking/Moving Traffic Violations Fees  
Parking Permit Fee (except when parking at Pecan Campus Park and Ride location during scheduled operating hours) 25.00
Parking Permit Replacement Fee 25.00
Parking Permit Violations:
First
30.00
Second
50.00
Third
80.00
Fourth
100.00
Fifth
120.00
Handicap Parking Violations 150.00
Moving Traffic Violations:
First
30.00
Second
50.00
Third
90.00
Vehicle Boot Removal Fee 100.00
Skateboard and Other Appliance Violation:
First
Warning
Second
30.00
Third
50.00
Fourth
70.00
Fifth
90.00
Testing Fees  
American Welding Society Certification Testing and Material Fees Recovery of Costs and Processing Fees
Credit By Examination Tuition
GED Exams: Students will register and pay fees to Pearson VUE for GED online testing services and subject to change.
GED Exam Fee - 1st and 4th Attempts
GED Exam Fee - English Language Arts
36.25
GED Exam Fee - Mathematics Only
36.25
GED Exam Fee - Science Only
36.25
GED Exam Fee - Social Studies Only
36.25
GED Retest Exam Fees - 2nd, 3rd, 5th and 6th Attempts
GED Retest Exam Fee - English Language Arts
16.25
GED Retest Exam Fee - Mathematics Only
16.25
GED Retest Exam Fee - Science Only
16.25
GED Retest Exam Fee - Social Studies Only
16.25
Health Education Services Inc. (HESI) Exam: Students will register and pay fees for each attempt when signing up for the exam through the Market Place website. The College purchases the units through Elsevier Inc. Fees will be subject to change.
Health Education Services Inc. (HESI) Exam Fee
45.00
HiSET Exam Fee (All Five Exams - 1st and 4th Attempts): Students will register through the ETS website and pay all applicable fees online, including Test Center Fees. Fees subject to change.
HiSET Exam Fee - Reading Only
25.00
HiSET Exam Fee - Writing Only
25.00
HiSET Exam Fee - Math Only
25.00
HiSET Exam Fee - Science Only
25.00
HiSET Exam Fee - Social Studies Only
25.00
HiSET Exam Fee (All Five Exams - 2nd, 3rd, 5th and 6th Attempts): Students will register through the ETS website and pay all applicable fees online, including Test Center Fees. Fees will be subject to change.
HiSET Exam Fee - Reading Only
15.00
HiSET Exam Fee - Writing Only
15.00
HiSET Exam Fee - Math Only
15.00
HiSET Exam Fee - Science Only
15.00
HiSET Exam Fee - Social Studies Only
15.00
Proctoring/Professional Testing Services Fee Recovery of Costs and Processing Fees to be Negotiated
TCOLE Licensing Examination (per Exam)
Basic Peace Officer Exam
35.00
Basic Jailer Exam
35.00
Telecommunicator Exam
35.00
Police Officer to Jailer Exam
35.00
TSI Assessment Exams: Effective January 11, 2021
TSI Assessment Reservation Fee
25.00
TSI Assessment Exam - Both Exams
29.00
TSI Assessment Exam Fee - English Language Arts and Reading Only
15.00
TSI Assessment Exam Fee - Math Only
15.00
TSI Assessment Exam Retesting Fees: Effective January 11, 2021
TSI Assessment Reservation Fee
25.00
TSI Assessment Exam Retesting Fee -Both Exams
29.00
TSI Assessment Exam Fee - Retesting English Language Arts and Reading Only
15.00
TSI Assessment Exam Fee - Retesting Math Only
15.00
Child Development Center  
Tuition Fee per Week 125.00/Week 25.00/Day
Registration Fee: (per semester/session)
Fall Semester
50.00
Spring Semester
50.00
Summer Session
25.00
Late Pick-up Fee $5/first 5 Minutes and $1/ea. Add'l Minute
Supply Fee: (per semester/session)
Fall Semester
40.00
Spring Semester
40.00
Summer Session
20.00
Reservation Fee:
Fall Semester
65.00
Spring Semester
65.00
Summer Session
25.00

Dual Credit

 Independent Dual Credit

Independent Dual Credit Tuition per Credit Hour:  
In-District Dual Credit Students Who Are Enrolled in a School District with a Memorandum of Understanding or an Interlocal Agreement with South Texas College Who Do Not Receive Approval to Enroll in a Regular (Non-S) Section(s). $50.00 Plus Applicable Differential Tuition
In-District Home Schooled or Dual Credit Students Who Are Not Enrolled in a School District with a Memorandum of Understanding or an Interlocal Agreement with South Texas College. $50.00 Plus Applicable Differential Tuition
Out-of-District Home Schooled or Dual Credit Students Who Are Not Enrolled in a School District with a Memorandum of Understanding or an Interlocal Agreement with South Texas College $80.00 Plus Applicable Differential Tuition
Independent Dual Credit Fees:  
In-District Dual Credit Students Who Are Enrolled in a School District with a Memorandum of Understanding or an Interlocal Agreement with South Texas College Who Do Not Receive Approval to Enroll in a Regular (Non-S) Section(s). All Fees, Including Course and Incidental Fees, are Applicable and Will Not Be Waived.
In-District Home Schooled or Dual Credit Students Who Are Not Enrolled in a School District with a Memorandum of Understanding or an Interlocal Agreement with South Texas College All Fees, Including Course and Incidental Fees, are Applicable and Will Not Be Waived.
Out-of-District Home Schooled or Dual Credit Students Who Are Not Enrolled in a School District with a Memorandum of Understanding or an Interlocal Agreement with South Texas College All Fees, Including Course and Incidental Fees, are Applicable and Will Not Be Waived.

Dual Credit Academies

Independent Dual Credit Participation Fees:  
Dual Credit Academies Participation Fee - Fall and Spring, per Student per Semester (Charged to School District) $600 For Recovery of Costs and Processing Fees
Dual Credit Academies Participation Fee - Summer, per Student per Credit Hour (Charged to School District) $50 For Recovery of Costs and Processing Fees
Independent Dual Credit Reimbursement of Costs:  
School Districts Requesting South Texas College Faculty to Teach Dual Credit Courses, per Course per Semester Recovery of Faculty Salaries, Fringe Benefits, Mileage, and Other Associated Costs and Processing Fees
Late Cancellation Fee for Dual Credit Sections Assigned to South Texas College Faculty to Teach, per section per semester 900.00

Dual Credit Sponsored by Partnering School Districts

Dual Credit Tuition:  
Per Credit Hour Tuition for In-District Dual Credit Students Sponsored By Partnering School Districts 0.00
Differential Tuition Per Credit Hour for Courses Offered On A South Texas College Campus or Facility:  
Associate Degree Nursing 0.00
Emergency Medical Technology 0.00
Occupational Therapy Assistant 0.00
Patient Care Assistant 0.00
Pharmacy Tech 0.00
Physical Therapist Assistant 0.00
Radiologic Technology/Sonography 0.00
Respiratory Therapy 0.00
Vocational Nursing 0.00
Course Fees  
Electronic Distance Learning/VCT Course Fee per Credit Hour 10.00
NAH and Other Course Fees: Liability Insurance/Exams/Booklets/Badges/Special Program ID/Certificates/Pinning Ceremony/Other Activities Recovery of Costs and Processing Fees
Incidental Fees  
Fee per Credit Hour for Dual Credit Students Attempting a Course Three or More Times 125.00
Dual Credit Late Processing Fee per Course per Student after Census Day 200.00