BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Officers



Rose Benavidez - Chair

President of Starr County Industrial Foundation

District 1

Representing Starr County

First Term: Nov. 2009 - May 2012 Second Term: May 2012 - May 2018 Third Term: May 2018 - May 2024

Serves as a Member of the Facilities Committee. Previously served as Chair and Vice Chair of the Board.



Dr. Alejo Salinas Jr. - Vice Chair

Retired Lecturer, University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley

Retired Superintendent, Superintendent Emeritus, Hidalgo ISD

District 5

Representing Northwest Hidalgo County, Edinburg, North San Juan, and Northeast Pharr

First Term: May 1996 - May 2002 Second Term: May 2002 - May 2008 Third Term: May 2008 - May 2014 Fourth Term: May 2014 - May 2020 Fifth Term: May 2020 - May 2026

Serves as Chair of the Facilities Committee and as a Member of the Finance, Audit, and Human Resources Committee. Previously served as Chair and Vice Chair of the Board, and as Chairman of the Education and Workforce Development Committee.



Victoria Cantú - Secretary

CEO of Children's Education Station, LLC

District 2

Representing La Joya, West Mission, Palmview, Sullivan City, Penitas, and West Alton

First Term: May 2018 - May 2024

Serves as a Chair of the Education and Workforce Development Committee



Paul R. Rodriguez - Member

CEO of Valley Land Title Co.

District 3

Representing South McAllen, Southwest Pharr, Hidalgo, Sharyland, Southeast Mission, and Granjeno

Appointed: August 2012 - May 2016 Second Term: May 2016 - May 2022 Third Term: May 2022 - May 2028

Serves as a Member of the Facilities Committee and the Finance, Audit, and Human Resources Committee. Previously served as Chairman of the Board, Secretary of the Board, and as Chairman of the Finance, Audit, and Human Resources Committee.



Dalinda Gonzalez-Alcantar - Member

CEO, Boys & Girls Club of McAllen

District 4

Representing North McAllen, Northwest Pharr, Palmhurst, Southwest Edinburg, East Alton, and Northeast Mission

First Term: May 2022 - May 2028

Serves as a Member of the Education and Workforce Development Committee.



Rene Guajardo - Member

Education Consultant

District 6

Representing Donna, South Alamo, South San Juan, Southeast Pharr, South Weslaco, and Progreso

First Term: May 2018 - May 2024

Serves as Chair of the Finance, Audit, and Human Resources Committee.



Danny Guzman - Member

Right-of-Way Agent, Hidalgo County Precinct #1

District 7

Representing Northeast Hidalgo County, North Weslaco, Edcouch, Elsa, La Villa, Mercedes, Monte Alto, Northeast Alamo, Northeast Edinburg, and Hargill

First Term: November 2020 - May 2026

Serves as Member of the Education and Workforce Development Committee.